ROCKFORD, Illinois – SwedishAmerican is pleased to announce this year’s Dr. Henry C. Anderson Quality Award winners are Michelle Youngberg-Campos and the ABCDEF Bundle Implementation Team.

Each year, SwedishAmerican recognizes one individual and one team in the health system that provides outstanding quality, achievement and education to our patients and to one another. The awards are named after Dr. Henry C. Anderson, a physician and healthcare leader who was dedicated to SwedishAmerican’s heritage of quality excellence for more than 50 years. He joined the medical staff at SwedishAmerican as a primary care physician in 1955. After 34 years of practicing medicine, he joined the administrative staff at SwedishAmerican, where he served as Vice President of Professional Affairs and Chief Quality Officer.

The individual award recipient this year, Michelle Youngberg-Campos, works in SwedishAmerican’s Professional Practice department. Michelle’s impact spreads far and wide throughout the organization. She is one of the first faces all new nursing staff members see as they are introduced to our Nursing Welcome and New Graduate RN Residency programs. She is actively involved in several initiatives throughout the organization, has a creative approach to engaging new learners, and collaborates with staff of all disciplines to ensure quality education and metrics are met.

This year’s team award recipient goes to the ABCDEF Bundle Implementation Team of Nichole Burfield, Jessica Scott, Amber Steinborn, Eric Murphy, Jennifer ElBrichi, Stacy Carson, Carrie Hamilton, Wendy Slipke, jarred Bernard, Lacrisha Diehl, Mae Larson, Michele Fey, Andrea Vassev, Sarah Boxrud, LouAnn Cox-Johnson and Carol Salinas. This multidisciplinary team implemented the Wake Up and Breathe Protocol while also improving practices related to sedation and pain management, assessment, prevention and management of delirium and developed and implemented an early mobility program.

“The Dr. Henry C. Anderson Quality Award is the organization’s highest expression of distinction and appreciation,” said SwedishAmerican Chief Medical Officer and Chief Medical Information Officer Dr. Michael Polizzotto. “I congratulate this year’s recipients for their spirit and determination, and I thank every one of our associates at Swedes who strives provide quality care to our patients.”